## Past Recipients of the GLFC C.D. "Buzz" Besadny Award for Fostering Great Lakes Partnerships

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2016	Suzette Kimball	For singular determination to revitalize the U.S. Geological Survey's Great Lakes large-vessel program and for strengthening the long-standing partnership between the Council of Lake Committees and the USGS, thus ensuring an effective fisheries science program that meets partner needs through USGS investments in facilities, staff, and improved communications.
2015	Cameron Davis	For exceptional leadership in coordinating Great Lakes policy and funding initiatives valued at more than \$1 billion, and for remarkable efforts building partnerships among multiple federal, state, municipal, tribal, and civic stakeholders throughout the basin.
	Chris Goddard	For significant contributions to conservation and fishery management throughout his thirty-plus-year career with the Province of Ontario, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Great Lakes Fishery Commission, and as a consultant. For his professional philosophy of combining solid scientific information with human needs and goals. For bridging jurisdictional divides by heightening the stature of and adherence to A Joint Strategic Plan for Management of Great Lakes Fisheries.
2014	John Jackson	For tireless commitment to uniting the environmental non-governmental community and to developing effective communication with officials in Canada and the United States, and for providing strong leadership on the Canadian Committee of Advisors.
2014	Jennifer Nalbone	For outstanding work to combat invasive species, to restore biodiversity, and to support the health of the Great Lakes fishery and for steadfast leadership to the United States Committee of Advisors.
2013	John Robertson	For embracing ecosystem management principles while leader of the MIDNR Fisheries Division and for vision in engaging Great Lakes fishery managers from the region to work toward shared fishery management goals.
2012	Peter Johnson	For fostering myriad partnerships among the states, provinces, other governments, and partners to promote sustainable water management, resulting in the enactment of robust, legal protections for Great Lakes water and partnerships.
2012	Scudder Mackey	For approaching the commission with a creative ideato manipulate water flows in the St. Marys River to better understand sea lamprey trapping and the effectiveness of the sterile-male-release-technique. Also, for facilitating the development of this project, which received funds from the GLRI and was carried out by the GLFC and its partners.
2011	Robert MacGregor	For leading efforts to protect and restore the American eel in Lake Ontario and throughout its range by coordinating with federal, state, provincial, and industry interests in new and effective partnerships extending beyond the Great Lakes.

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2010	Ontario Federation of Anglers and Hunters	For organizing a highly successful partnership involving multiple government agencies and the private sector to restore native Atlantic salmon to Lake Ontario.
	Dennis Grinold	For his lifelong commitment to protecting and enhancing the Great Lakes fishery.
	Andy Buchsbaum	For tireless energy in reaching out to interests that in the past have been assumed—often incorrectly—to be antithetical to Great Lakes protection, and for strong advocacy for the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative.
2009	Mike Ryan	For a tireless commitment to protecting and enhancing the resources in the Great Lakes and for fostering partnerships among sport fishing groups, businesses, and industry.
2008	Russ Piper	For helping the Ontario government bridge the ideological gap between sports fishers and commercial fishers and for leadership in land conservation practices that influence water quality and fish communities in Lake Erie.
	Jack Wingate	For developing, reviewing, and sponsoring state and tribal proposals under the Great Lakes Fish and Wildlife Restoration Act from 1998-2006.
2007	John Cooley	For career-long contributions to Great Lakes science and management, for his work in building bi-national partnerships, and for support for the Partnership in Ecosystem Management Program.
2006	Henry Buffalo Sr. Richard Gurnoe	For their commitment, as reflected in the internal and external organizations that they created, to bring tribal government to the Joint Strategic Plan process. (Both recipients are deceased.)
2005	Allegra Cangelosi Joy Mulinex	For building new partnerships including partnerships with the Corps of Engineers and Fish and Wildlife Service and for legislative advocacy for restoration of the Great Lakes.
2004	Dick Reuss	For his leadership as U.S. advisor, for work to revitalize the committee, for his steadfast support for the commission and its vision, and for his contributions to the success of the fishery.
2003	Kevin Ramsey Bill Lafferty 9th Coast Guard	For developing new law enforcement partnerships
2002	Mark Ebener	For his outstanding contributions to the lake committees and lake technical committees.
2001	Ed Makauskas	For long-time service as an advisor, for his leadership on the Committee of Advisors, and his work to secure funding for sea lamprey control.

YEAR	RECIPIENT	REASON
2000	Dennis Hickey & Comm. Fishing Industry	For outstanding personal contributions to the protection of the Great Lakes fishery and in recognition of the commercial fishing industry's many partnerships with management agencies.